2014 Comcast Leaders & Achievers® Scholarship Recognition Celebration

Thirty scholarship recipients pose following the Comcast Leaders and Achievers Scholarship Ceremony held at the Utah State Capitol Rotunda on May 21, 2014.  Comcast awarded $60,000 in scholarships to 36 students from across the Wasatch Front in a special Comcast Leaders and Achievers Scholarship Ceremony held at the Utah State Capitol Rotunda on May 21, 2014.  Not pictured:  Andrew Sessions, Tanner Nelson, Callie Cheney, Akbar Khan, Karina Richardson and Yolancee Nguyen.

Thirty-six high school students throughout Utah were honored at the 2014 Comcast Leaders & Achievers®
Scholarship Recognition Celebration held at the Utah State Capitol.  The student scholars were presented with an individual $1,000 grant during the special luncheon.  The Honorable Wayne L. Niederhauser, President of the Utah State Senate served as the keynote and KSL5 News’ Keith McCord was the emcee. Welcoming remarks were made by Ray Child, Senior Director, Public Relations, Comcast and David L. Buhler, Commissioner of Higher Education was the special awards presentation presenter.   Ten of the winning students also won a personal laptop computer to use at college, and Comcast distributed four additional $5,000 President’s scholarships and one $10,000 Founder’s scholarship in grants.  The program, one of the Comcast Foundation’s signature community investment programs, recognizes students’ leadership skills, academic achievement and commitment to community service.

With nearly three hundred in attendance, a number of elected officials, community leaders, educators and guests, also joined the students at the ceremony.  Afterward, the student leaders and their guests were treated to an exclusive tour of the Utah State Capitol.Each year, the Comcast Foundation awards high school seniors $1,000, $5,000 and $10,000 scholarships for college. The Comcast Leaders and Achievers® Scholarship Program recognizes students who have demonstrated leadership skills, academic achievement, and a commitment to community service.

This year’s winners have participated in a wide variety of community service projects such as organizing food drives, anti-bullying efforts, fundraising projects and volunteering at local nonprofit organizations. Each year, Comcast works with high school principals, guidance counselors, and school administrators to select the scholarship recipients.
Since Comcast launched the program in 2001, we have awarded close to $20 million in scholarships to help nearly 20,000 high school students around the country to pursue their higher education goal.


The full list of 2014 Comcast Leaders & Achievers® Scholarship Recipients include:
  1. Trevor Aiken – Brighton High School
  2. Gisela Arellano – Granger High School *laptop winner
  3. Andrew Atoa – Mountain View High School
  4. Allie Beckett – Grantsville High School *laptop winner
  5. Kelvyn Bladen – Mountain Crest High School
  6. Grant Brinkerhoff – Bountiful High School
  7. Kathryn Bryant – Stansbury High School *laptop winner
  8. Hadley Burton – Clearfield High School
  9. Callie Cheney – Payson High School
  10. Robert Crofts – Bonneville High School
  11. Hannah Davis – Bingham High School
  12. LaRae Day – Timpanogos High School *Founder’s Scholarship $5,000 grant winner
  13. Anna Galura – Herriman High School
  14. Giovanni Giannoni Lima – Cyprus High School *laptop winner
  15. Jared Gonzalez – Riverton High School *Founder’s Scholarship $5,000 grant winner
  16. Hannah Hoj – Olympus High School *laptop winner
  17. Spencer Holman – Provo High School *laptop winner
  18. Noah Horvath – West High School *Founder’s Scholarship $5,000 grant winner
  19. Samantha Hyde – Woods Cross High School *laptop winner
  20. Jorie-Ann Jasmin – Northern Utah Academy for Math, Engineering & Science
  21. Katrina Jones – Alta High School
  22. Kalyani Kannan – Intech Collegiate High School
  23. Akbar Khan – Hillcrest High School
  24. Molly Leavens – Park City High School *laptop winner
  25. Tanner Nelson – Jordan High School
  26. Yolancee Nguyen – West Jordan High School
  27. Brooke Pierson – Weber High School
  28. Katrina Richardson – Walden School of Liberal Arts
  29. Christian Sanchez – Orem High School
  30. Nathan Scott – Box Elder High School
  31. Japhet Sengiyuma – East High School
  32. Andrew Sessions – American Heritage School
  33. Mason Stringer – Pleasant Grove High School *laptop winner
  34. Miriam Trujillo – Ogden High School *Founder’s Scholarship $5,000 grant winner
  35. John Vo – Skyline High School *President’s Scholarship $10,000 grant winner
  36. Jasey Wyatt – Taylorsville High School

Congratulations to all this year’s 2014 Comcast Leaders & Achievers® Scholarship recipients!

We think you may also like…