Congratulations, Comcast Leaders and Achievers Scholarship Winners!

It was a spirited time at the beautiful Utah State Capitol last Wednesday as 36 high school seniors in Utah were awarded Comcast’s Leaders and Achievers Scholarships! The students were recognized at a memorable awards luncheon for their outstanding achievements and also received the opportunity to meet their gracious Senators and House Representatives who represent their districts.

Utah Commissioner of Higher Education David L. Buhler was the keynote speaker at the luncheon ceremony.  Following the ceremony students and their families were taken on tour of the State Capitol building.

The Comcast Leaders and Achievers Scholarship Program provides one-time $1,000 scholarships to students who strive to achieve their potential, who are catalysts for positive change in their communities, who are involved in their schools, and who serve as models for their fellow students.  This year, four of the students were surprised with $5,000 Presidents scholarships, and one student was surprised with a $10,000 Founder scholarship at the ceremony.  The $5,000 scholarship winners included Asal Kareem from Cottonwood High School, Jill Richardson from Woods Cross High School, Isaac Litster from Amercian Fork High School and Susuki Cortez from Ogden High School.  The $10,000 scholarship winner was Justin Hammon from Copper Hills High School.

Ten students were also selected from a random raffle drawing to win a netbook computer to use in college.

If you are interested in applying for next year’s Leaders and Achievers Scholarship, please speak with your high school counselor or visit

A huge congratulations and best of luck to the following winners!

Alex Alba

Highland High School

Mark Allred

Sky View High School

Kayla Bailey

Bear River High School

Sterling Brandley

Ben Lomond High School

Thomas Brown

Park City High School

Susuki Cortez

Ogden High School

Jonathan Engle

Timpview High School

Andrea Evans

Hillcrest High School
Dallin Farrell

Lone Peak High School

Anthony Fierro

Salt Lake Center for Science Education

Abigail Froerer

Weber High School

Natasha Geist

Olympus High School

Siera Gomez

Stansbury High School

Samanta Gonzales

Kearns High School

Ana Gregoire Goldberg

Salt Lake School for the Performing Arts

Justin Hammond

Copper Hills High School

Katelyn Hannifin

Payson High School

Carlie Hughes

Grantsville High School

Treyton Imamura

West High School

Andrew Janssen

Intermountain Christian School

Asal Kareem

Cottonwood High School

Taylor Karren

Spectrum Academy

Sambat Kim

Hunter High School

Ana Laura Licon

Intech Collegiate High School

Isaac Litster

American Fork High School

Jordan Little

Bonneville High School

Aubree Matheson

Clearfield High School

Rachel Peters

Bountiful High School

Quinn  Pitcher

Bingham High School

Jill Richardson

Woods Cross High School

Heather Shipp

Timpanogos High School

William Snell

Spanish Fork High School

Brady Stout

Judge Memorial Catholic High School

McKenna Watts

Layton High School

Carli  Williams

Jordan High School

Christopher Williamson

Juan Diego Catholic High School

We think you may also like…